Unfortunately, this gig is being filmed so the band stick to a short 45 minute set with no encore. If I’d known that before I wouldn’t have bothered coming as I prefer seeing real sets from a band and not a shorter showcase.

It’s mostly new stuff though so for me it’s worth hearing for the first time. A song called “Name calling” is fast, uptempo and great to dance to. There’s a soulful ballad called “Just like me” and an guitar led stomper which the band and audience accompany with handclaps.

It’s a good set, as expected from this tight band – it’s just too short. If this had been the first time I’d seen them live I would have been disappointed. I’m glad I saw them play a proper set about 9 months ago.

He’s got a new album out in Feb 2010, let’s hope he comes back and plays some proper dates then.

Peace.

For a review of a proper gig he played see https://getoutgigging.wordpress.com/2009/04/22

